The California Association of Professional Music Teachers (CAPMT) is a music teachers organization of over 1,000 members, teaching in independent studios, private and public schools, conservatories, colleges, and universities throughout California.

CAPMT offers a variety of state programs for the music student and educational and professional opportunities for its members: www.capmt.org. California is divided into nine geographical districts, some of which are subdivided into chapters. The districts and chapters provide local opportunities for student performances, competitions and evaluations and for teacher enrichment, education and interaction. District III represents the southern part of Los Angeles County.

"The primary purpose of CAPMT is to raise the standards of music education and to promote the art of music throughout the State by means of educational activities, which will heighten awareness and understanding of the art of music by students, teachers, and the general public, including State Conferences, District conferences, master classes, workshops, student evaluations and competitions, newsletter and scholarship opportunities."*

*CAPMT Constitution, Art. II, Sec. 4

CAPMT is the California affiliate of the Music Teachers National Association (MTNA), which was founded in 1876 and is America's oldest music professional association. Our membership includes concert artists, university, college and conservatory faculty, and independent music educators.

MTNA membership for Californians is possible only through CAPMT; conversely, membership in CAPMT includes MTNA. Studio teachers, performers and educational institutions benefit from a national affiliation and perspective. National and division programs, interstate and intrastate legal information, representation in Washington, D.C., involvement in the Alliance for Arts Education and American Music Conference -- all create a powerful voice for music teachers and their special concerns. California is part of the MTNA Southwest Division, which also includes Nevada, Utah, Arizona, New Mexico and Hawaii.


Membership Information

Interested in becoming a member?